Excerpt from the book I am currently working on…

This is part of a letter I wrote to my children, many years ago:

*********************

5/29/87

Alison & Steve –
Seems like its been a while since I’ve written to ya’ll. It’s been almost 6 months since we lost daddy. I miss him so much. I try not to let it show too much because I don’t want to get ya’ll upset too. He was not just my husband but also my best friend. Your daddy always took up for me. He was so great. It hurts so much sometimes when I realize that we will never have what we had, again. I know in heaven we will all be together again but I still miss him. He was a very special person. Ya’ll brought him so much happiness. He was very happy. He liked being a daddy. He wanted to teach ya’ll so many things. We used to talk about growing old together and raising ya’ll to be good people.

**********************************************

It’s been fun reliving some of the memories, but upsetting at others.  I hope this book will inspire people.  We went through a lot of bad stuff, but it does get better!  There is always hope.

Have a great weekend, friends

DPD

Leave a Reply

